Shutterstock
Licensed stock photos, vectors, video, editorial, music and templates, with an AI image generator and an API on top.
- Ratings
- No member reviews yet
- Price
- From $15/mo
- Last updated

Key takeaways
- Shutterstock is a licensed stock marketplace first and an AI tool second. It sells photos, vectors, video, editorial media, music, sound effects and templates, with an AI image generator, a browser editor and an API layered on top. The homepage claims more than 860 million assets as of August 2026; the 450 million figure still circulating in tool directories is stale.
- The buying model has moved toward unlimited access. On July 23, 2026 Shutterstock made two Unlimited plans available globally, Unlimited Images and Unlimited Plus, each with monthly AI credits, commercial licensing and downloads governed by a Fair Usage Policy. A Shutterstock app inside ChatGPT launched on April 1, 2026, and asset discovery now happens in a chat window.
- Pricing is regional, dynamic and hard to pin down. A July 29, 2026 third-party capture puts Generative AI at $15 a month billed annually, Image downloads at $25, Unlimited Images at $29, Video downloads at $59 and Unlimited Plus at $69. Another 2026 capture of the same catalog lists materially different tiers and prices. Check the logged-out checkout before you commit.
- Traffic is large and drifting down. A third-party entity record reports 60,712,682 visits for June 2026 while the scrape estimate for the same month is 57,083,598, roughly 6% below May. Neither number is independently audited, so read them as a range.
- The biggest caveat is the billing machinery. On May 13, 2026 the FTC announced Shutterstock would pay $35 million to settle allegations that it hid auto-renewal and early-cancellation terms, charged without informed consent and made cancellation difficult. The proposed order requires clearer disclosures and simple cancellation. Verify the current flow instead of trusting older write-ups.
What is Shutterstock?
Shutterstock is the stock content platform run by Shutterstock, Inc., a public Delaware company. Its published headquarters is 350 Fifth Avenue, 21st Floor, New York. You search a library of photos, illustrations, vectors, footage, editorial media, music, sound effects and templates, pick a license and download the asset. The homepage title is "Shutterstock: Stock Images, Photos, Vectors, Video, and Music", and the current corporate claim is more than 860 million assets.
What separates it from a generation tool is the license. Paid assets are cleared for commercial use under the applicable Standard or Enhanced license, and Shutterstock has advertised human-reviewed indemnification for eligible AI images to enterprise customers. That matters more to a brand team or a publisher than raw output quality does, and it is why the API and the embeddable UI widget exist. Other products bolt Shutterstock search and licensing into their own editors.
The AI layer sits on top of all that and replaces none of it. Shutterstock's generator has used third-party model partnerships including OpenAI and DALL-E, and the July 2026 Unlimited announcement says subscribers get access to leading models from OpenAI, Google, Runway and others, without naming the current version mapping. Shutterstock says the generator was trained on licensed Shutterstock datasets and describes a Contributor Fund that compensates artists. One question is still open. Getty Images and Shutterstock signed a merger agreement on January 6, 2025 at roughly $3.7 billion enterprise value, and the filings retrieved do not confirm it closed.
How it works
Search the library
Open Shutterstock in a browser and search by keyword, then filter by image, vector, video, music, editorial or template. Browsing works without signing in, but licensing and downloading generally need an account. API users run the same search programmatically and pull metadata, previews and collections.
Check the preview and the license
Every result shows a watermarked preview with metadata and the license options attached to it. Editorial content carries different terms from commercial stock, and Standard and Enhanced licenses differ in what use they cover, so the license choice comes before the download.
Pick an access plan
You buy a subscription, an on-demand pack or an AI plan. Availability and price depend on the market and the account. The Unlimited plans draw from curated collections, not the whole catalog: more than 83 million images on Unlimited Images, more than 100 million mixed creative assets on Unlimited Plus.
Generate, edit, then license and download
If nothing in the library fits, the AI generator makes an image from a prompt and Shutterstock Create handles basic design and editing in the browser. The Shutterstock app in ChatGPT, launched April 1, 2026, surfaces licensable images, video, music and sound effects in conversation. API workflows license first, then receive download links in the response.
Features
Stock Images, Photos and Vectors
Searchable royalty-free stills, illustrations and vector assets, the original product and still the largest part of the catalog. Most people subscribe for this.
Stock Video
Footage for social posts, advertising, presentations and production work. Video sits on its own download plans, and Unlimited Plus covers it while Unlimited Images does not.
Music and Sound Effects
Tracks and sound effects for video and audio projects, licensed the same way as visual assets. One of the 2026 price captures lists a standalone Music and Sound Effects Unlimited plan, though it does not appear in the most recent capture.
Editorial
News, celebrity, sports and event content, kept separate from commercial stock because the usage terms differ. Publishers and newsrooms are the audience here, not advertisers.
AI Image Generator
Generates images from a prompt. Shutterstock's position is that the model was trained on licensed Shutterstock data and that output carries commercial licensing. That combination is why risk-conscious buyers choose it over a general generator.
AI Design Assistant and Shutterstock Create
Browser design and editing on top of the library. The evidence available describes it as basic design and editing, short of professional print work, and independent reviewers say the same.
API and embeddable UI widget
The API covers search, previews, metadata, collections, licensing and downloads. Enterprise accounts can get expanded capabilities including AI search and an embedded Editor, and the UI widget drops image and video search plus licensing into a customer's own site.
What people use it for
- Licensing hero imagery, vectors and footage for a marketing campaign
- Sourcing editorial photography for publishing and news work
- Adding music and sound effects to social, advertising and video projects
- Building website and presentation visuals from templates and stock media
- Generating a concept image with AI when the library has no match
- Iterating on a design in the browser without opening a desktop editor
- Embedding search and licensing into a publisher, editing or workflow product through the API or the UI widget
- Pulling licensable assets into a ChatGPT conversation through the Shutterstock app
It is not a substitute for an advanced professional design suite, and it does not guarantee unrestricted bulk downloading. Reviewers describe the built-in editor as basic and insufficient for professional print work, and a Fair Usage Policy governs Unlimited downloads and can restrict high-volume users.
Who it’s for
Pricing
Official pricingIndividual plans
Generative AI
$15
per month
100 AI generation credits a month, billed annually at $180
Image downloads
$25
per month
10 image downloads a month, billed annually at $300
Unlimited Images
$29
per month
Unlimited downloads from a curated 83M+ image collection plus 50 AI credits a month, subject to a Fair Usage Policy; billed annually at $348
Video downloads
$59
per month
Five video downloads a month with a 5 to 20 selector, billed annually at $708
Unlimited Plus
$69
per month
Unlimited images, video, music and sound effects from a curated 100M+ collection plus 100 AI credits a month, subject to a Fair Usage Policy; billed annually at $828
Business plans
Teams and enterprise
Custom
contact sales
Seat counts, SSO, pooled team credits and enterprise pricing are not stated in the July 2026 announcement; enterprise API accounts can add AI search, an embedded Editor and human-reviewed indemnification for eligible AI images
Prices vary by country, currency, tax, commitment and whether you are logged in. The official pricing page did not expose a complete plan matrix when it was checked on August 31, 2026, so the figures here are the best dated third-party capture available, not a quote. A July 29, 2026 capture lists Image downloads at $25 a month billed annually, or $300 a year, for 10 images a month; Unlimited Images at $29 a month billed annually, or $348 a year, with 50 AI credits a month; Unlimited Plus at $69 a month billed annually, or $828 a year, with 100 AI credits a month; Video downloads at $59 a month billed annually, or $708 a year, for five videos a month with a 5 to 20 selector; and Generative AI at $15 a month billed annually, or $180 a year, for 100 AI generation credits. Separately, a 2026 capture of the same catalog reports different offers entirely, including 10 images a month at $29 on a 12-month contract, $49 month to month or $299 a year, and Generative AI Plus at $7 billed annually or $29 with no contract; these conflicts likely reflect regional, experimental or changed catalogs, and you should not treat any of them as live. Three mechanics matter before you subscribe. "Unlimited" means unlimited downloads from a curated collection, not the whole catalog, and it is expressly subject to a Fair Usage Policy under which high-volume users may hit system restrictions. Credits are usage units whose cost depends on the asset and the plan, and rollover, expiry, top-ups and the exact cost of one AI generation were not confirmed. Refunds are the sharpest edge. Ordinary content purchases are generally described as final, with possible exceptions for technical or defective content, and the FTC alleged in May 2026 that Shutterstock failed to disclose auto-renewal and early-cancellation charges or obtain informed consent, a case settled for $35 million under a proposed order that requires clear disclosure and simple cancellation. There is no confirmed permanent full-featured free plan. The classic 10-image free trial was reportedly removed in March 2024, and the free routes reported in July 2026 are three selected free images, 40 curated free videos and two AI generations, plus an API free account that can search but not license or download. As for teams, the July 2026 announcement does not state seat counts, SSO, pooled team credits or enterprise pricing; those require contacting sales.
Traffic & reach
These are third-party estimates from our last check, a proxy for reach and not an audited number. The two available sources disagree. A third-party entity record reports 60,712,682 visits for June 2026 with unclear provenance and methodology, while the scrape estimate for June 2026 is 57,083,598, about 6% below the previous month and down from roughly 73 million in December 2025. That mix is what a search-led marketplace looks like: about 58% of visits arrive through organic search and about 25% direct. The United States is the largest single market at roughly 15%, ahead of India and Indonesia.
Visits, June 2026
57.1M
▼ 6.0% month over month
Nov '25Jun '26
Top countries
- United States15%
- India7.4%
- Indonesia6.0%
- Brazil3.8%
- United Kingdom3.6%
Traffic sources
- Organic search58%
- Direct25%
- Affiliates5.3%
- Referrals4.2%
- Organic social3.4%
- Paid search2.3%
- Visits, last 3 months
- 178.3M
- Avg. visit
- 2m 30s
- Pages per visit
- 3.6
- Bounce rate
- 45.4%
- Brand searches / mo
- 61.4M
User reviews
Write a reviewNo reviews yet
Used Shutterstock on something real? Write down what you made, what it cost and what the trade-off was. The next person can decide in about a minute from that.
Be the first to reviewWhat to know before you commit
What buyers rate it for. The praise is consistent. And it is about the catalog, not the AI. A July 2026 review reports G2 at 4.4 out of 5 across roughly 668 reviews, with users citing the size of the library, the accuracy of the search filters and general ease of use. The API is the other repeated positive, because platforms that need embedded search and licensing can get both without building a content operation.
The two review scores describe different things. G2 sits at 4.4 out of 5 while Trustpilot is reported around 1.2 out of 5, and the gap is not noise. Product utility is what G2 reviewers rate; Trustpilot attracts billing complaints. Neither score on its own speaks for the customer base, and reading only one of them will mislead you in a predictable direction.
The billing complaints became an FTC action. On May 13, 2026 the FTC announced Shutterstock would pay $35 million to settle allegations of illegal subscription cancellation and billing practices, including unclear auto-renewal and early-cancellation terms, charges without informed consent and difficult cancellation. Trustpilot reviews from January 2026 describe the same experiences: unexpected renewals, charges and poor support. Those are user reports, not adjudicated findings, but they match what the agency alleged. The proposed order requires clearer disclosures and simple cancellation, so the flow you meet today should differ from the one described in older reviews.
"Unlimited" has a written limit. Trustpilot complaints from January 2026 allege users hit caps despite the plan name, one of them writing that "calling it 'unlimited' while secretly restricting users is completely misleading". Shutterstock's own contributor material confirms that high-volume activity can be restricted, and the July 2026 announcement puts Unlimited downloads under a Fair Usage Policy. Treat it as generous, not uncapped.
The Getty merger is signed but not confirmed closed. Getty Images and Shutterstock announced a merger of equals on January 6, 2025 at roughly $3.7 billion enterprise value, with the combined company to trade as Getty Images Holdings. The filings retrieved do not confirm completion, so don't describe Shutterstock as acquired. If it does close, branding, catalog overlap and licensing terms are all in scope for change.
Contributor economics and AI provenance are open questions. Contributor-side reviews criticise low or variable payouts. Shutterstock's 2026 FAQ says 50% of net Unlimited subscription revenue is allocated under Subscriber Share, but individual earnings vary. Separately, Shutterstock's contributor policy forbids contributors from submitting AI-generated content and gives them toggles for data licensing, while the company says its own generator trained on licensed data and compensates artists through a Contributor Fund. These are company statements and policy commitments, not audited findings.
Alternatives to Shutterstock
Frequently asked questions
Company & links
- Company
- Shutterstock
- Founded
- 2003
- Founders
- Jon Oringer
- Leadership
- Paul J. Hennessy is CEO and Rikki Powell is CFO, per the 2025 SEC filing. Jonathan Oringer, who founded the company in New York in 2003, is founder and executive chair. Oringer had built software businesses before Shutterstock and started it after noticing that marketing emails performed better with photographs and finding no affordable generic stock. He bought a Canon Rebel, shot roughly 100,000 images in six months, and launched a subscription marketplace with about 30,000 of them at $49 a month for unlimited downloads.
- Funding
- Shutterstock is a public company, formerly listed on the NYSE, and went public in 2012, so venture rounds are not the relevant frame. Retrieved filings do not provide a complete funding-round history, and a $76.5 million figure appearing in a third-party entity record is unreconciled, so don't treat it as authoritative. The outstanding corporate event is the January 6, 2025 merger agreement with Getty Images at roughly $3.7 billion enterprise value, which the retrieved filings do not confirm as completed.
- Scale
- Shutterstock reported FY2025 revenue of $989.9 million, $166.7 million of operating cash flow, $149.5 million of adjusted free cash flow and $178.2 million of cash at December 31, 2025. Those are company-reported public-company figures. A third-party entity record reports 3,655 workers, with no reliable observation date attached, so treat headcount as approximate.
Try Shutterstock on work you already know
A task you’ve done before is the fastest way to judge whether Shutterstock fits your workflow and budget. Check the current plan terms on the official site before you subscribe.

